#### ANNOTATED AGENDA SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BERKELEY CITY COUNCIL

# Tuesday, June 23, 2020 6:00 P.M.

JESSE ARREGUIN, MAYOR Councilmembers:

DISTRICT 1 – RASHI KESARWANI

DISTRICT 5 – SOPHIE HAHN

DISTRICT 2 – CHERYL DAVILA

DISTRICT 6 – SUSAN WENGRAF

DISTRICT 7 – RIGEL ROBINSON

DISTRICT 4 – KATE HARRISON

DISTRICT 8 – LORI DROSTE

### PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Section 3 of Executive Order N-29-20, issued by Governor Newsom on March 17, 2020, this meeting of the City Council will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. Please be advised that pursuant to the Executive Order and the Shelter-in-Place Order, and to ensure the health and safety of the public by limiting human contact that could spread the COVID-19 virus, there will not be a physical meeting location available.

Live audio is available on KPFB Radio 89.3. Live captioned broadcasts of Council Meetings are available on Cable B-TV (Channel 33) and via internet accessible video stream at <a href="http://www.cityofberkeley.info/CalendarEventWebcastMain.aspx">http://www.cityofberkeley.info/CalendarEventWebcastMain.aspx</a>.

To access the meeting remotely: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Please use this URL <a href="https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81018378132">https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81018378132</a>. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon by rolling over the bottom of the screen.

To join by phone: Dial **1-669-900-9128** and enter Meeting ID: **810 1837 8132**. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, Press \*9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

To submit an e-mail comment during the meeting to be read aloud during public comment, email <a href="mailto:clerk@cityofberkeley.info">clerk@cityofberkeley.info</a> with the Subject Line in this format: "PUBLIC COMMENT ITEM ##." Please observe a 150 word limit. Time limits on public comments will apply. Written comments will be entered into the public record.

Please be mindful that the teleconference will be recorded as any Council meeting is recorded, and all other rules of procedure and decorum will apply for Council meetings conducted by teleconference or videoconference.

This meeting will be conducted in accordance with the Brown Act, Government Code Section 54953. Any member of the public may attend this meeting. Questions regarding this matter may be addressed to Mark Numainville, City Clerk, (510) 981-6900. The City Council may take action related to any subject listed on the Agenda. Meetings will adjourn at 11:00 p.m. - any items outstanding at that time will be carried over to a date/time to be specified.

#### **Preliminary Matters**

**Roll Call:** 6:01 p.m.

**Present:** Kesarwani, Davila, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Droste, Arreguin

**Absent:** Bartlett, Harrison

Councilmember Bartlett present at 6:08 p.m.

Councilmember Harrison present at 6:09 p.m.

#### **Action Calendar**

#### 1. Fiscal Year 2021 Budget Update

From: City Manager

Contact: Teresa Berkeley-Simmons, Budget Manager, (510) 981-7000

Action: M/S/C (Arreguin/Wengraf) to accept supplemental materials related to the

budget update from the City Manager.

Vote: All Ayes.

Action: 47 speakers. Discussion held.

#### 2. FY 2020 Second Quarter Investment Report: Ended December 31, 2019

(Continued from June 16, 2020)

From: City Manager

Contact: Henry Oyekanmi, Finance, (510) 981-7300

**Action:** 3 speakers. Discussion held. Report received and filed.

#### 3. FY 2020 Third Quarter Investment Report: Ended March 31, 2020 (Continued

from June 16, 2020) From: City Manager

Contact: Henry Oyekanmi, Finance, (510) 981-7300 **Action:** Discussion held. Report received and filed.

**Action:** M/S/C (Arreguin/Wengraf) to accept an urgency item from Councilmember

Wengraf related to funding for the Alameda County Sheriff.

Vote: All Ayes.

### Urgency Item: Oppose Budget Increase of \$84 million Annually to the Sheriff's Budget for 349 New Positions at the Santa Rita Jail

From: Councilmember Wengraf (author), Mayor Arreguin (co-sponsor) and Councilmember Davila (co-sponsor)

**Recommendation:** Send the attached letter as an email to be included in the Alameda County Board of Supervisor's Agenda Packet for their June 25th budget meeting, opposing the budget increase of \$84 million annually for the next three years to the Sheriff's budget for the Santa Rita Jail.

Fiscal Implications: None

Contact: Susan Wengraf, Councilmember, District 6, (510) 981-7160

Action: 4 speakers. Councilmember Kesarwani added as a co-sponsor. M/S/C

(Wengraf/Kesarwani) to approve the recommendation.

Vote: All Ayes.

#### **Adjournment**

**Action:** M/S/C (Harrison/Davila) to adjourn the meeting in memory of Seth Smith, UC Berkeley Student and victim of recent homicide.

**Vote:** Ayes – Kesarwani, Davila, Bartlett, Harrison, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Arreguin; Noes – None; Abstain – None; Absent – Droste.

Adjourned at 10:59 p.m.

#### **Communications**

None

#### **Supplemental Communications and Reports 1**

None

#### **Supplemental Communications and Reports 2**

#### Item #1: Fiscal Year 2021 Budget Update

- 1. Carol Denney
- 2. Lisa Bullwinkel

#### **Supplemental Communications and Reports 3**

#### Item #1: Fiscal Year 2021 Budget Update

- 3. Supplemental material, submitted by Finance
- 4. 18 similarly-worded form letters
- 5. Amy Gordon
- 6. Christopher Paguio
- 7. Rose Schweis
- 8. Laurel Halvorson
- 9. Elana Auerbach (2)
- 10. Bill Press
- 11. Lynne Henderson
- 12. Fred Wiese
- 13. Elizabeth Ferguson
- 14. Margy Wilkinson
- 15. Jeremy Lent
- 16. Alexandra Rodgers
- 17. Martin Bourque, on behalf of the Ecology Center
- 18. A Boi
- 19. Barbara Gilbert (2)
- 20. Attilio
- 21. Amy Ciraco
- 22. Alex de Man
- 23. Avi Simon
- 24. Jenna Fahle
- 25. Todd Jersey
- 26. Alyssa Chung
- 27. Alecia Harger

- 28. Nell Henderson
- 29. Charlene Woodcock
- 30. Gina Drescher
- 31. Ruth Laurie Winestock
- 32. Victoria Buckett
- 33. Colin Long
- 34. Sarai
- 35. Sara Bancroft
- 36. Ryan Norris
- 37. Tori Larson
- 38. Amalee Beattie
- 39. Hillary Brooks
- 40. Chimey Lee
- 41. Elana Auerbach

#### Item #3: FY 2020 Third Quarter Investment Report: Ended March 31, 2020

42. Supplemental material, submitted by Finance

## Urgency Item: Oppose Budget Increase of \$84 million annually to the Sheriff's Budget for 349 New Positions at the Santa Rita Jail

- 43. Urgency item, submitted by Councilmember Wengraf
- 44. Carole Marasovic