ANNOTATED AGENDA SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BERKELEY CITY COUNCIL

Thursday, July 30, 2020 4:00 P.M.

JESSE ARREGUIN, MAYOR Councilmembers:

DISTRICT 1 – RASHI KESARWANI

DISTRICT 5 – SOPHIE HAHN

DISTRICT 2 – CHERYL DAVILA

DISTRICT 6 – SUSAN WENGRAF

DISTRICT 7 – RIGEL ROBINSON

DISTRICT 4 – KATE HARRISON

DISTRICT 8 – LORI DROSTE

PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Section 3 of Executive Order N-29-20, issued by Governor Newsom on March 17, 2020, this meeting of the City Council will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. Please be advised that pursuant to the Executive Order and the Shelter-in-Place Order, and to ensure the health and safety of the public by limiting human contact that could spread the COVID-19 virus, there will not be a physical meeting location available.

Live audio is available on KPFB Radio 89.3. Live captioned broadcasts of Council Meetings are available on Cable B-TV (Channel 33) and via internet accessible video stream at http://www.cityofberkeley.info/CalendarEventWebcastMain.aspx.

To access the meeting remotely: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Please use this URL https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81409898529. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon by rolling over the bottom of the screen.

To join by phone: Dial **1-669-900-9128** and enter Meeting ID: **814 0989 8529**. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, Press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

To submit an e-mail comment during the meeting to be read aloud during public comment, email clerk@cityofberkeley.info with the Subject Line in this format: "PUBLIC COMMENT ITEM ##." Please observe a 150 word limit. Time limits on public comments will apply. Written comments will be entered into the public record.

Please be mindful that the teleconference will be recorded as any Council meeting is recorded, and all other rules of procedure and decorum will apply for Council meetings conducted by teleconference or videoconference.

This meeting will be conducted in accordance with the Brown Act, Government Code Section 54953. Any member of the public may attend this meeting. Questions regarding this matter may be addressed to Mark Numainville, City Clerk, (510) 981-6900. The City Council may take action related to any subject listed on the Agenda. Meetings will adjourn at 11:00 p.m. - any items outstanding at that time will be carried over to a date/time to be specified.

Preliminary Matters

Roll Call: 4:08 p.m.

Present: Kesarwani, Davila, Harrison, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Droste, Arreguin

Absent: Bartlett

Action Calendar

1. Placing a Measure on the November 3, 2020 Ballot to Amend Various Sections of the Rent Stabilization Ordinance (Chapter 13.76) From: Mayor Arreguin (Author)

Recommendation:

- 1. Adopt a Resolution to submit to the voters proposed amendments to the Rent Stabilization and Eviction for Good Cause Ordinance at the November 3, 2020 General Municipal Election. The amendments would amend various sections of the Rent Stabilization Ordinance to:
- a) Prohibit eviction of qualifying tenants for nonpayment of rent during state or local emergencies;
- b) Authorize the Rent Stabilization Board to set registration fees for partially exempt units:
- c) Limit the Accessory Dwelling Unit exemption to owner-occupied properties with a single-family home and one accessory unit.
- 2. Designate, by motion, specific members of the Council to file ballot measure arguments on this measure as provided for in Elections Code Section 9282.

Financial Implications: See report

Contact: Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, (510) 981-7100

Action: M/S/C (Arreguin/Robinson) to include the severed portion regarding Registration as amended.

Vote: Ayes – Davila, Harrison, Hahn, Robinson, Arreguin; Noes – Kesarwani, Wengraf, Droste; Abstain – None; Absent – Bartlett (Recused – property interest).

Action: M/S/C (Arreguin/Robinson) to include the severed portion regarding Eviction Protections.

Vote: Ayes – Kesarwani, Davila, Harrison, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Droste, Arreguin; Noes – None; Abstain – None; Absent – Bartlett (Recused – property interest).

Action: M/S/C (Arreguin/Robinson) to include the severed portion regarding ADUs. **Vote:** Ayes – Davila, Harrison, Hahn, Robinson, Arreguin; Noes – Kesarwani, Wengraf, Droste; Abstain – None; Absent – Bartlett (Recused – property interest).

Action Calendar

Action: 34 speakers. M/S/C (Arreguin/Robinson) to:

- 1. Adopt Resolution No. 69,534–N.S. to place the measure on the ballot with amended language in the ballot measure text in Section 13.76.050.O. with corresponding changes in Sections 13.76.080.A. and 13.76.080.L. regarding exemption from the registration requirement for certain property owners.
- 2. Designated Mayor Arreguin and Councilmembers Harrison and Robinson to submit ballot arguments on behalf of the City Council.

Vote: Ayes – Davila, Harrison, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Arreguin; Noes – Kesarwani, Droste; Abstain – None; Absent – Bartlett (Recused – property interest).

Recess: 7:31 p.m. – 7:42 p.m.

Adjournment

Action: M/S/C (Hahn/Davila) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: Ayes – Kesarwani, Davila, Harrison, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Droste, Arreguin;

Noes – None; Abstain – None; Absent – Bartlett (Recused – property interest).

Adjourned at 8:22 p.m.

Communications

None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 1

None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 2

None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 3

Item #1: Placing a Measure on the November 3, 2020 Ballot to Amend Various Sections of the Rent Stabilization Ordinance (Chapter 13.76)

- 1. Judy Bebelaar
- 2. Sara Hartley
- 3. Barbara Schick
- 4. Andrew Marowitz (3)
- 5. Damian Park
- 6. Peter Selawsky
- 7. John Parman
- 8. Steven Svoboda
- 9. Larisa Sidorova
- 10. Thomas Lord

- 11. Rick Maisel
- 12. Christine Schwartz
- 13. Berkeley Landlords
- 14. Toni Mester
- 15. Judi
- 16. Greg San Martin
- 17. Lance and Krystyna Montauk
- 18. Mark DuBois
- 19. Michael Farrell
- 20. Andrea Mullarkey
- 21. Chimey Lee
- 22.LR Altman
- 23. Jim Lutz (2)
- 24. Barbara Gilbert
- 25. Carolina Santizo
- 26. Jeane Clinton
- 27. Susann Payne