ANNOTATED AGENDA SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BERKELEY CITY COUNCIL

Tuesday, September 29, 2020 6:00 P.M.

JESSE ARREGUIN, MAYOR Councilmembers:

DISTRICT 1 – RASHI KESARWANI

DISTRICT 5 – SOPHIE HAHN

DISTRICT 2 – CHERYL DAVILA

DISTRICT 6 – SUSAN WENGRAF

DISTRICT 7 – RIGEL ROBINSON

DISTRICT 4 – KATE HARRISON

DISTRICT 8 – LORI DROSTE

PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Section 3 of Executive Order N-29-20, issued by Governor Newsom on March 17, 2020, this meeting of the City Council will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. Please be advised that pursuant to the Executive Order and the Shelter-in-Place Order, and to ensure the health and safety of the public by limiting human contact that could spread the COVID-19 virus, there will not be a physical meeting location available.

Live audio is available on KPFB Radio 89.3. Live captioned broadcasts of Council Meetings are available on Cable B-TV (Channel 33) and via internet accessible video stream at http://www.cityofberkelev.info/CalendarEventWebcastMain.aspx.

To access the meeting remotely: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Please use this URL https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89084364433. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon by rolling over the bottom of the screen.

To join by phone: Dial **1-669-900-9128** and enter Meeting ID: **890 8436 4433**. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, Press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

To submit an e-mail comment during the meeting to be read aloud during public comment, email clerk@cityofberkeley.info with the Subject Line in this format: "PUBLIC COMMENT ITEM ##." Please observe a 150 word limit. Time limits on public comments will apply. Written comments will be entered into the public record.

Please be mindful that the teleconference will be recorded as any Council meeting is recorded, and all other rules of procedure and decorum will apply for Council meetings conducted by teleconference or videoconference.

This meeting will be conducted in accordance with the Brown Act, Government Code Section 54953. Any member of the public may attend this meeting. Questions regarding this matter may be addressed to Mark Numainville, City Clerk, (510) 981-6900. The City Council may take action related to any subject listed on the Agenda. Meetings will adjourn at 11:00 p.m. - any items outstanding at that time will be carried over to a date/time to be specified.

Preliminary Matters

Roll Call: 6:06 p.m.

Present: Kesarwani, Davila, Bartlett, Harrison, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Droste,

Arreguin

Absent: None

Public Comment - Limited to items on this agenda only - 6 speakers.

Action Calendar

1. **Vision 2050 Task Force Recommendations**

From: Vision 2050 Task Force

Recommendation:

1. Accept the Vision 2050 Initiative Report and adopt the recommended City Council Actions.

2. Refer to the City Manager the recommended City Manager Actions as well as the principles, strategies and actions outlined in the report.

Financial Implications: See report

Contact: Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, (510) 981-7100

Action: 6 speakers. M/S/C (Arrequin/Wengraf) to accept the Vision 2050 Initiative Report and adopt the recommended city council actions, with the following amendments: add language to Principle 2 throughout the report so it reads: "Have efficient, inspired, and well-maintained infrastructure," and also, in developing the 2050 legislative package, prioritize the projects which address the greatest risks first; and to refer to the City Manager the recommended City Manager actions as well as the principles, strategies and actions outlined in the report.

Vote: Ayes - Kesarwani, Bartlett, Harrison, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Droste, Arreguin; Noes – None; Abstain – None; Absent – Davila.

Councilmember Davila absent 8:17 p.m. – 8:21 p.m.

Adjournment

Action: M/S/C (Robinson/Droste) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: Ayes - Kesarwani, Bartlett, Harrison, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Droste, Arreguin;

Noes – None; Abstain – None; Absent – Davila.

Adjourned at 8:21 p.m.

Communications

None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 1

None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 2

None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 3

None