ANNOTATED AGENDA SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BERKELEY CITY COUNCIL

Tuesday, March 21, 2023 4:00 PM

SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD ROOM - 1231 ADDISON STREET, BERKELEY, CA 94702 TELECONFERENCE LOCATION - 1404 LE ROY AVE, BERKELEY 94708

JESSE ARREGUIN, MAYOR

Councilmembers:

DISTRICT 1 – RASHI KESARWANI DISTRICT 2 – TERRY TAPLIN DISTRICT 3 – BEN BARTLETT DISTRICT 4 – KATE HARRISON DISTRICT 5 – SOPHIE HAHN DISTRICT 6 – SUSAN WENGRAF DISTRICT 7 – RIGEL ROBINSON DISTRICT 8 – MARK HUMBERT

This meeting will be conducted in a hybrid model with both in-person attendance and virtual participation. For inperson attendees, face coverings or masks that cover both the nose and the mouth are encouraged. If you are feeling sick, please do not attend the meeting in person.

Live captioned broadcasts of Council Meetings are available on Cable B-TV (Channel 33) and via internet accessible video stream at <u>http://berkeley.granicus.com/MediaPlayer.php?publish_id=1244</u>.

Remote participation by the public is available through Zoom. To access the meeting remotely: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Please use this URL: <u>https://cityofberkeley-info.zoomgov.com/j/1604192052</u>. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon by rolling over the bottom of the screen. To join by phone: Dial **1-669-254-5252 or 1-833-568-8864** (**Toll Free**) and enter Meeting ID: **160 419 2052**. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, Press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Please be mindful that the meeting will be recorded and all rules of procedure and decorum apply for in-person attendees and those participating by teleconference or videoconference.

To submit a written communication for the City Council's consideration and inclusion in the public record, email <u>council@cityofberkeley.info</u>.

This meeting will be conducted in accordance with the Brown Act, Government Code Section 54953 and applicable Executive Orders as issued by the Governor that are currently in effect. Any member of the public may attend this meeting. Questions regarding this matter may be addressed to Mark Numainville, City Clerk, (510) 981-6900. The City Council may take action related to any subject listed on the Agenda. Meetings will adjourn at 11:00 p.m. - any items outstanding at that time will be carried over to a date/time to be specified.

Preliminary Matters

Roll Call: 4:08 p.m.

Present: Bartlett, Wengraf, Robinson, Humbert, Arreguin

Absent: Kesarwani, Taplin, Harrison, Hahn

Councilmember Harrison present at 5:26 p.m.

Councilmember Kesarwani present at 6:07 p.m.

Worksession

- Civic Arts Grants Program Improved Practices & Community Impact From: City Manager Contact: Eleanor Hollander, Economic Development, (510) 981-7530 Action: 8 speakers. Presentation made and discussion held.
- Civic Center Plan Phase II Design Concept From: City Manager Contact: Liam Garland, Public Works, (510) 981-6300 Action: 15 speakers. Presentation made and discussion held.

Adjournment

Action: M/S/C (Arreguin/Robinson) to adjourn the meeting. Vote: Ayes – Kesarwani, Bartlett, Harrison, Robinson, Humbert, Arreguin; Noes – None; Abstain – None; Absent – Taplin, Hahn, Wengraf.

Councilmember Wengraf absent 5:47 p.m. – 6:36 p.m.

Adjourned at 6:36 p.m.

Communications

Item #2: Civic Center Plan Phase II – Design Concept

- 1. Wendy Alfsen
- 2. Peter Schultze-Allen
- 3. Todd Jersey
- 4. Janet Byron
- 5. John Caner, Convener, Community for a Cultural Civic Center

Supplemental Communications and Reports 1

• None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 2

Item #2: Civic Center Plan Phase II – Design Concept

- 6. Gillian Irwin
- 7. Stefen
- 8. Diana Bohn
- 9. Rachel Katz

Supplemental Communications and Reports 3

Item #1: Civic Arts Grants Program – Improved Practices & Community Impacts

10. Presentation, submitted by the City Manager's Office

Item #2: Civic Center Plan Phase II – Design Concept

11. Presentation, submitted by the City Manager's Office

12. Karl Wanaselja

13. Kelly Hammargren