ANNOTATED BERKELEY CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING

THURSDAY, APRIL 13, 2023 3:00 P.M.

REDWOOD ROOM – 2180 MILVIA STREET, BERKELEY, CA 94704
TELECONFERENCE LOCATION - 1404 LE ROY AVE, BERKELEY 94708

JESSE ARREGUIN, MAYOR Councilmembers:

DISTRICT 1 – RASHI KESARWANI

DISTRICT 5 – SOPHIE HAHN

DISTRICT 2 – TERRY TAPLIN

DISTRICT 6 – SUSAN WENGRAF

DISTRICT 7 – RIGEL ROBINSON

DISTRICT 4 – KATE HARRISON

DISTRICT 8 – MARK HUMBERT

This meeting will be conducted in a hybrid model with both in-person attendance and virtual participation. For in-person attendees, face coverings or masks that cover both the nose and the mouth are encouraged. If you are feeling sick, please do not attend the meeting in person.

Remote participation by the public is available through Zoom. To access the meeting remotely: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Please use this URL: https://cityofberkeley-info.zoomgov.com/j/1618017241. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon by rolling over the bottom of the screen. To join by phone: Dial 1-669-254-5252 or 1-833-568-8864 (Toll Free) and enter Meeting ID: 161 801 7241. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, Press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Please be mindful that the meeting will be recorded and all rules of procedure and decorum apply for inperson attendees and those participating by teleconference or videoconference.

To submit a written communication for the City Council's consideration and inclusion in the public record, email council@cityofberkeley.info.

This meeting will be conducted in accordance with the Brown Act, Government Code Section 54953 and applicable Executive Orders as issued by the Governor that are currently in effect. Any member of the public may attend this meeting. Questions regarding this matter may be addressed to Mark Numainville, City Clerk, (510) 981-6900. The City Council may take action related to any subject listed on the Agenda.

Preliminary Matters

Roll Call: 3:05 p.m.

Present: Bartlett, Harrison, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Humbert, Arreguin

Absent: Kesarwani, Taplin

Councilmember Taplin present at 3:09 p.m.

Councilmember Kesarwani present at 5:00 p.m.

Public Comment - Limited to items on this agenda only – 25 speakers

CLOSED SESSION:

The City Council will convene in closed session to meet concerning the following:

1. PUBLIC EMPLOYEE APPOINTMENTS PURSUANT TO GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 54957(b):

a. Title of position to be filled: Fire Chief

Action: No reportable action taken.

b. Title of position to be filled: Chief of Police

Action: No reportable action taken.

OPEN SESSION:

No reportable action taken.

Adjournment

Adjourned at 7:00 p.m.

I hereby certify that the forgoing is a true and correct record of the closed session meeting held on April 13, 2023.

Mark Numainville, City Clerk

Communications

None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 1

None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 2

Item #1.b.: Public Employee Appointments Pursuant to Government Code Section 54957(b) b. Title of position to be filled: Chief of Police

- 1. Starchild
- 2. Trach Rosenberg
- 3. Janice Schroeder
- 4. Diana Bohn
- 5. Elizabeth Ferguson
- 6. Phoebe Anne Sorgen
- 7. Zipporah Collins
- 8. Mary Ann Meany
- 9. Jack Kurzweil
- 10. Kelly Hammargren
- 11. Cindy Shamban
- 12. Sally Nelson
- 13. Tobey Wiebe
- 14. Holly Scheider
- 15. Todd Andrew (2)
- 16. Karl Knobler
- 17. Elena Auerbach
- 18. Catherine Huchting
- 19. Max Ventura

Supplemental Communications and Reports 3

Item #1.b.: Public Employee Appointments Pursuant to Government Code Section 54957(b) b. Title of position to be filled: Chief of Police

- 20. Hansel Aguilar
- 21. Mati Teiblum
- 22. Moni Law
- 23. Cat Zavis
- 24. Summer Brenner
- 25. Debbie Perkins-Kalama
- 26. Diana Bohn (2)
- 27. Mary-Lee Kimber Smith
- 28. Paul Lee