ANNOTATED AGENDA SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BERKELEY CITY COUNCIL

Tuesday, July 18, 2023 6:00 PM

SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD ROOM - 1231 ADDISON STREET, BERKELEY, CA 94702 TELECONFERENCE LOCATION - 1404 LE ROY AVE, BERKELEY 94708

JESSE ARREGUIN, MAYOR Councilmembers:

DISTRICT 1 – RASHI KESARWANI

DISTRICT 5 – SOPHIE HAHN

DISTRICT 2 – TERRY TAPLIN

DISTRICT 6 – SUSAN WENGRAF

DISTRICT 7 – RIGEL ROBINSON

DISTRICT 4 – KATE HARRISON

DISTRICT 8 – MARK HUMBERT

This meeting will be conducted in a hybrid model with both in-person attendance and virtual participation. For inperson attendees, face coverings or masks that cover both the nose and the mouth are encouraged. If you are feeling sick, please do not attend the meeting in person.

Live captioned broadcasts of Council Meetings are available on Cable B-TV (Channel 33) and via internet accessible video stream at http://berkeley.granicus.com/MediaPlayer.php?publish_id=1244.

Remote participation by the public is available through Zoom. To access the meeting remotely: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Please use this URL https://cityofberkeley-info.zoomgov.com/j/1616390973. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon by rolling over the bottom of the screen. To join by phone: Dial 1-669-254-5252 or 1-833-568-8864 (Toll Free) and enter Meeting ID: 161 639 0973. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, Press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Please be mindful that the meeting will be recorded and all rules of procedure and decorum apply for in-person attendees and those participating by teleconference or videoconference.

To submit a written communication for the City Council's consideration and inclusion in the public record, email council@berkeleyca.gov.

This meeting will be conducted in accordance with the Brown Act, Government Code Section 54953 and applicable Executive Orders as issued by the Governor that are currently in effect. Any member of the public may attend this meeting. Questions regarding this matter may be addressed to Mark Numainville, City Clerk, (510) 981-6900. The City Council may take action related to any subject listed on the Agenda. Meetings will adjourn at 11:00 p.m. - any items outstanding at that time will be carried over to a date/time to be specified.

Preliminary Matters

Roll Call: 6:19 p.m.

Present: Taplin, Harrison, Hahn, Wengraf, Robinson, Humbert, Arreguin

Absent: Kesarwani, Bartlett

Councilmember Kesarwani present at 6:20 p.m.

Councilmember Bartlett present at 6:20 p.m.

Worksession

1. Ashby BART Station Transit-Oriented Development (TOD)

From: City Manager

Contact: Jordan Klein, Planning and Development, (510) 981-7400 **Action:** 32 speakers. Presentation made and discussion held.

2. City Policies for Managing Parking Around BART Stations (Continued from

November 29, 2022) From: City Manager

Contact: Liam Garland, Public Works, (510) 981-6300

Action: Presentation made and discussion held.

Adjournment

Action: M/S/C (Arreguin/Taplin) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: Ayes – Kesarwani, Taplin, Bartlett, Harrison, Robinson, Humbert, Arreguin; Noes –

None; Abstain – None; Absent – Hahn, Wengraf.

Adjourned at 10:19 p.m.

Communications

None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 1

None

Supplemental Communications and Reports 2

Item #1: Ashby BART Station Transit-Oriented Development (TOD)

- 1. 9 similarly-worded form letters (heartening))
- 2. 16 similarly-worded form letters (substation)
- 3. Sarah Bell
- 4. Nicole Inaba
- 5. Becca Schonberg

- 6. Tawny Reynolds
- 7. Tom Vosburgh
- 8. Margaret Wotkyns
- 9. Anne Holmes
- 10. Noah Baker
- 11. Sherry Wang
- 12. Kathy Vaughn
- 13. Lee Bishop
- 14. Oren Chevette
- 15. Phyllis Orrick

Item #2: City Policies for Managing Parking Around BART Stations

- 16. Bruce Brody
- 17. Jacki Bernier
- 18. Sandra Tarbet
- 19. Eric Cheng
- 20. Linda Press Wulf
- 21. Gerald Morrison
- 22. Richard Laden
- 23. Barbara Gilbert
- 24. Adlai Leiby
- 25. Roberta Spieckerman
- 26. Caroline and Sam Yunker
- 27. Cindy Shamban
- 28. Meryl Siegal
- 29. Richard Tamm
- 30. Leslie Valas

Supplemental Communications and Reports 3

Item #1: Ashby BART Station Transit-Oriented Development (TOD)

- 31. Presentation (Transit-Oriented Development), submitted by Planning and Development
- 32. Presentation (Transit-Oriented Development), submitted by BART
- 33. Jordan Klein, Director, Department of Planning & Development
- 34. Liz Exter
- 35. Kate Pocrass
- 36. Derek Sagehorn
- 37. Jack Kurzweil
- 38. Vishal Ganesan
- 39. Teresa Clarke
- 40. Peter Waller
- 41. Kitt Saginor
- 42.Kris Stangl
- 43. Abbie Turiansky
- 44. Ariella Granett
- 45. Serena Lim
- 46. Mike Wilson
- 47. Jenn Guitart
- 48. Todd Andrew
- 49. Michai Freeman

50. Joaquin Carbonell

Item #2: City Policies for Managing Parking Around BART Stations

- 51. Elizabeth Horowitz
- 52. Nicole Corsini
- 53. Tammy Stellanova
- 54. Tony Corman
- 55. Christine and David Goldin
- 56. Victoria Kahn
- 57. Phil Allen
- 58. Liz Exter
- 59. Helene Silverberg
- 60. Meryl Siegal
- 61. Laura Klein
- 62. Vicki Sommer (3)
- 63. Claudia Valas
- 64. Michael Lonergan
- 65. Igor Tregub
- 66. Councilmember Kesarwani
- 67. Cheryl Brewster
- 68. Janice Murota
- 69. David Brandon
- 70.S. Entsistle
- 71. Doris Nassiry