

HOUSING ADVISORY COMMISSION Regular Meeting Thursday, February 7, 2019

Housing Advisory Commission

Time: 7:01 pm South Berkeley Senior Center 2939 Ellis Street – Berkeley Secretary – Amy Davidson, (510) 981-5406

APPROVED MINUTES

1. Roll Call

<u>Present</u>: Xavier Johnson, Thomas Lord, Leah Simon-Weisberg (arrived at 7:11 pm), Alex Sharenko, Maryann Sargent, Igor Tregub, Marian Wolfe and Amir Wright.

<u>Absent</u>: Darrell Owens (excused). Commissioners in attendance: 8 of 8

Staff Present: Amy Davidson, Mike Uberti and Kelly Wallace

Members of the public in attendance: 7

Public Speakers: 4

2. Agenda Approval

Action: M/S/C (Sharenko/Johnson) to approve the agenda.

Vote: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None.

Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused) and Simon-Weisberg (unexcused).

3. Public Comment

There were two speakers during public comment.

4. Approval of the January 3, 2019 Regular Meeting Minutes

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Johnson/Lord) to approve the minutes with an amendment to Item 9 to state "Discussion and Possible Action to Make Recommendations to Council to Create the Measure O Oversight Committee and Measure P Homeless Services Panel of Experts"

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: Sharenko and Wright. Absent: Owens (excused).

5. Officer Elections

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Simon-Weisberg/Wright) to elect Commissioner Johnson as Chair. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Sharenko/Tregub) to elect Commissioner Wolfe as Vice-Chair.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

6. Discussion on First Draft Annual Action Plan (AAP) PY 2019

7. Discussion and Possible Recommendation to the City Council for the Resources for Community Development 2001 Ashby Predevelopment Loan Application

Commissioner Wolfe recused herself from this item as she is on the board of Resources for Community Development.

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Tregub/Sargent) to recommend to City Council to support Resources for Community Development's predevelopment loan application for \$368,000 for its proposed development at 2001 Ashby.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused) and Wolfe (recused).

8. Discussion and Possible Action to Recommend the City Council Endorses AB 10, SB 18, and SCA 1

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Tregub/Sargent) to recommend to City Council to endorse Senate Constitutional Amendment (SCA) 1.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Tregub/Sargent) to recommend to City Council to endorse Assembly Bill (AB) 10.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: Lord. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

9. Report and Discussion on Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Subcommittee

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Tregub/Lord) to appoint Commissioners Simon-Weisberg and Sargent to the Community Development Block Grant subcommittee.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

10. Discussion and Possible Action to Streamline Subcommittee Formation

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Tregub/Sargent) to adopt the following rules for establishing short term ad hoc subcommittees:

- At any meeting, the Commission may take action to form one or more subcommittees to further consider any action item or information item on the agenda. Subcommittees formed under this rule shall be called "streamlined subcommittees".
- The intent of a streamlined subcommittee is for a subset of members to consider

the agenda item outside of the full commission meeting, and report back to the full commission at the next meeting or the meeting after that.

- Streamlined subcommittees shall be automatically dissolved no later than the second full commission meeting after their formation, or upon their making a final report at the first full commission meeting after their formation.
- As an exception to this rule, the deadline may be extended if a request for extension has been agendized and voted affirmatively by the whole commission.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

11. Discussion and Possible Action on Smoking Ban in Multifamily Housing

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Wolfe/Sharenko) to appoint a subcommittee of commissioners Lord and Tregub to study multifamily smoking regulations. This commission will bring its findings back to the commission and terminate no later than April 2019.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

12. Discussion and Possible Action to Establish Protocol for the Bi-Annual Housing Policy Report

Action: M/S/C (Tregub/Wolfe) to extend the meeting twenty minutes to 9:30.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Tregub/Wright) to establish a Bi-Annual Housing Policy Report Subcommittee to review "how and to what extent the City should establish and fund programs to increase the supply of affordable housing and protect residents of Berkeley from homelessness." This commission will bring its findings back to the commission and terminate no later than April 2019.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Sharenko/Tregub) to appoint commissioners Johnson, Lord, Sargent and Wolfe to the Bi-Annual Housing Policy Report Subcommittee.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Sharenko/Tregub) to extend the meeting twenty minutes to 9:50. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

13. Discussion and Possible Action to Recommend to the Joint Subcommittee for the Implementation of State Housing Law (JSISHL) Regarding a Student District

Housing Advisory Commission Regular Meeting Minutes February 7, 2019 Page 4 of 4

Density Bonus

- 14. Update on Council Items
- 15. Announcements/Information Items
- 16. Future Items
- 17. Adjourn

Action: M/S/C (Tregub/Sharenko) to adjourn the meeting at 9:51 pm.

Vote: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, Tregub, Wolfe and

Wright. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Owens (excused).

Approved on March 7, 2019	
	Mike Uberti, Acting Secretary