

Housing Advisory Commission

#### Time: 7:00 pm

South Berkeley Senior Center 2939 Ellis Street – Berkeley Secretary – Mike Uberti, (510) 981-5114

# **APPROVED MINUTES**

### 1. Roll Call

<u>Present</u>: Xavier Johnson, Thomas Lord, Mari Mendonca, Darrell Owens, Maryann Sargent, Alex Sharenko, Leah Simon-Weisberg, and Marian Wolfe. <u>Absent</u>: Amir Wright (excused). <u>Commissioners in attendance</u>: 8 of 8 <u>Staff Present</u>: Mike Uberti and Jenny Wyant <u>Members of the public in attendance</u>: 9 <u>Public Speakers</u>: 6

## 2. Agenda Approval

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Sharenko/Mendonca) to approve the agenda. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Mendonca, Owens, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wright (excused).

### 3. Public Comment

There were five speakers during public comment.

## 4. Approval of the November 7, 2019 Regular Meeting Minutes

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Wolfe/Mendonca) to approve the minutes. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Mendonca, Owens, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wright (excused).

- 5. Discussion and Possible Action to Provide Comments on the Draft 2020-2025 Consolidated Plan
- 6. Discussion and Possible Action to Nominate Candidates for February Office Elections

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Johnson/Sharenko) to establish the following nominees for the February office elections:

- Chair: Johnson
- Vice Chair: Simon-Weisberg, Wolfe

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Mendonca, Owens, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wright (excused).

## 7. Discussion and Possible Action to Appoint Subcommittees

## a. 1281 University Avenue RFP Responses

Action: M/S/C (Johnson/Lord) to establish the 1281 University Avenue RFP Subcommittee to advise the Housing Advisory Commission on the Request for Proposals for the City-owned property at 1281 University Avenue through April 30, 2020 to review and make recommendations on the applications received in response to the RFP and appoint Commissioners Mendonca, Owens, and Lord as members. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Mendonca, Owens, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wright (excused).

## b. 1654 Fifth Street RFP Responses

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Johnson/Mendonca) to continue 1654 5<sup>th</sup> Street RFP Subcommittee, removing Commissioners Johnson and Simon-Weisberg and appointing Commissioners Mendonca, Owens, and Lord.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Mendonca, Owens, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wright (excused).

## c. Social Housing

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Johnson/Lord) to continue the existing Social Housing Subcommittee, removing Commissioners Johnson and Simon-Weisberg and appointing Commissioners Mendonca and Lord as members.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Mendonca, Owens, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wright (excused).

## d. Housing Impacts of the Climate Emergency

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Wolfe/Johnson) to establish the Housing Impacts of the Climate Emergency Subcommittee through December 31, 2020 to consider making findings or recommendations related to the housing impacts of the climate emergency with Commissioners Johnson, Lord, and Mendonca as members.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Mendonca, Owens, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wright (excused).

### 8. Discussion and Possible Action to Notify the Community Environmental Advisory Commission and Energy Commission Regarding a Housing Impacts of the Climate Energy Subcommittee Joint Meeting

### Public Speakers: 1

Action: M/S/C (Johnson/Wolfe) to draft a letter to the Community Environmental Advisory Commission and Energy Commission regarding a Housing Impacts of the Climate Emergency Subcommittee concurrent meeting.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lord, Mendonca, Owens, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wright (excused).

## 9. Update on the CDBG Subcommittee

## 10. Update on Council Items

Housing Advisory Commission Regular Meeting Minutes January 9, 2020 Page 3 of 3

#### 11. Announcements/Information Items

#### 12. Future Items

### 13. Adjourn

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Johnson/Mendonca) to adjourn the meeting at 8:38 pm. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Mendonca, Owens, Sargent, Sharenko, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: Lord. Absent: Wright (excused).

Approved on February 6, 2020

\_\_\_\_\_, Mike Uberti, Secretary