

HOUSING ADVISORY COMMISSION Wednesday, January 20, 2021

Housing Advisory Commission

Time: 7:02 pm
Held via Video and Teleconfernce

Secretary – Mike Uberti HAC@cityofberkeley.info

APPROVED MINUTES

1. Roll Call

<u>Present</u>: Xavier Johnson, Libby Lee-Egan, Mari Mendonca, Alexandria Rodriguez, Ainsley Sanidad, Maryann Sargent (arrival 7:12), Leah Simon-Weisberg, and Marian Wolfe.

Absent: None.

Commissioners in attendance: 8 of 8

Staff Present: Anna Cash, Katrina Lapira, Amanda Montez, Alene Pearson, Mike Uberti

Members of the public in attendance: 5

Public Speakers: 6

2. Welcome New Commissioners

3. Agenda Approval

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Mendonca/Simon-Weisberg) to approve the agenda. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Sargent (unapproved).

4. Establish Ground Rules & Participation – Chair Johnson & Chair Kapla/All

5. Public Comment

There were three speakers during public comment.

- **6. Receive Presentation from Healthy Black Families** Ayanna Davis Public Comment: 3
- 7. Receive Presentation on Partnership for the Bay's Future (PBF) & Berkeley Initiatives Anna Cash, Berkeley PBF Fellow Public Comment: 3
- 8. Discussion and Possible Action on Council Referral: Refer to the Planning Commission and Housing Advisory Commission to Research and Recommend Policies to Prevent Displacement and Gentrification of Berkeley Residents of Color and African Americans All (Attachments 1-3)

9. Discussion and Possible Action on Subcommittee Appointments and Assignments

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Sargent/Simon-Weisberg) to appoint Commissioners Mendonca, Rodriguez, and Sanidad with Johnson as an alternate to the Subcommittee on Displacement and Gentrification and to appoint Commissioners Johnson, Lee-Egan, and Simon-Weisberg with Rodriguez as an alternate to the Housing Trust Fund Subcommittee.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Simon-Weisberg, and Sargent. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wolfe (unapproved).

10. Approval of the November 20, 2020 Special Meeting Minutes

Action: M/S/C (Simon-Weisberg/Sargent)

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Simon-Weisberg, and Sargent. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wolfe (unapproved).

11. Update on Council Items

12. Announcements/Information Items

- a. Commissioner Stipends
- b. City of Berkeley Race Equity and Belonging Town Hall

13. Future Items

14. Adjourn

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Johnson/Rodriguez) to adjourn the meeting at 10:35 pm. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Simon-Weisberg, and Sargent. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wolfe (unapproved).

Approved:	
	, Mike Uberti, Secretary