

Housing Advisory Commission

Time: 7:03 pm Held via Video and Teleconfernce

Secretary – Mike Uberti HAC@cityofberkeley.info

APPROVED MINUTES

1. Roll Call

<u>Present</u>: Sara Fain, Xavier Johnson, Libby Lee-Egan, Mari Mendonca, Alexandria Rodriguez, Ainsley Sanidad, Maryann Sargent, Leah Simon-Weisberg, and Marian Wolfe (departure at 9:33). <u>Absent</u>: None. <u>Commissioners in attendance</u>: 8 of 8 <u>Staff Present</u>: Amanda Montez, Alisa Shen, Mike Uberti <u>Members of the public in attendance</u>: 48 <u>Public Speakers</u>:17

2. Agenda Approval

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Wolfe/Rodriguez) to approve the agenda. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Fain, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Sargent, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None

3. Public Comment

There were fourteen speakers during public comment.

4. Approval of the January 20, 2021 Special Meeting Minutes

Action: M/S/C (Mendonca/Wolfe) to accept the January 20, 2021 Special Meeting Minutes.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Fain, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Sargent, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None

5. Officer Elections

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Simon-Weisberg/Wolfe) to elect Maryann Sargent as the Chair of the Housing Advisory Commission.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Fain, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Sargent, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Mendonca/Simon-Weisberg) to elect Xavier Johnson as the Vice Chair of the Housing Advisory Commission.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Fain, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Sargent, Simon-Weisberg, and Wolfe. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

- 6. Discussion and Possible Action on Housing Trust Fund Subcommittee Predevelopment Loan Application Recommendations
 - a. Community Housing Development Corporation/St. Paul AME's Application for 2024 Ashby Avenue

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Simon-Weisberg/Mendonca) to adopt the Housing Trust Fund Subcommittee's recommendation to recommend Council approve Community Housing Development Corporation/St. Paul AME's Predevelopment Loan Application for 2024 Ashby Avenue.

<u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Fain, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Sargent, and Simon-Weisberg. Noes: None. Abstain: Wolfe. Absent: None.

b. Community Housing Development Corporation/Ephesians Church of God In Christ (ECOGIC)'s Application for 1708 Harmon Street

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Simon-Weisberg/Mendonca) to adopt the Housing Trust Fund Subcommittee's recommendation to recommend Council approve Community Housing Development Corporation/Ephesians Church of God In Christ (ECOGIC)'s Predevelopment Loan Application for 1708 Harmon Street. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Fain, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Sargent, and Simon- Weisberg. Noes: None. Abstain: Wolfe. Absent: None.

7. Discussion on Affordable Housing Development Funds: Ashby and North Berkeley BART Station Areas and Future Housing Funding NOFAs

Public Comment: 3

<u>Action:</u> M/S/C (Sargent/Simon-Weisberg) to extend the meeting to 9:45pm <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Fain, Johnson, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Sargent, and Simon-Weisberg. Noes: Lee-Egan and Wolfe. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

8. Update on Council Items (Future Dates Subject to Change)

9. Announcements/ Information Items

a. Temporary Suspension of Certain Provisions of the Commissioners' Manual for Subcommittees

10. Future Items

11. Adjourn

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Mendonca/Rodriguez) to adjourn the meeting at 9:43 pm. <u>Vote</u>: Ayes: Fain, Johnson, Lee-Egan, Mendonca, Rodriguez, Sanidad, Sargent, and Simon-Weisberg. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Wolfe (unapproved). Housing Advisory Commission Special Meeting Minutes February 10, 2021 Page 3 of 3

Approved:

_____, Mike Uberti, Secretary