

Environment & Climate Commission

## ENVIRONMENT AND CLIMATE COMMISSION MINUTES Wednesday, November 29, 2023

Tregub, Igor	Mayor	Mayor
Ranney, Sarah	Kesarwani	District 1
Hedlund, Marc	Taplin	District 2
McGuire, Brianna	Bartlett	District 3
Tahara, Daniel	Harrison	District 4
Allen, Shannon	Hahn	District 5
Guliasi, Les	Wengraf	District 6
Lunaparra, Cecilia	Robinson	District 7
Lunaparra, Cecilia	Robinson	District 7
Vacant	Humbert	District 8

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Billi Romain at 6:02 pm. Commissioners Present: Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra Commissioner Leave of Absence: Tregub Commissioner Absent: None Staff: Billi Romain, Rebecca Milliken, Jen Sajor, Sarah Moore

#### Public Comments and Announcements: 3 member(s) of the Public 3 comment(s)

3. Approval of Minutes:

Motion/second to approve the October 18, 2023 Minutes (Lunaparra, Allen). The motion carried: 5-0-1-2; Ranney, McGuire, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra. Noes: None. Abstain: Hedlund. Absent: Tregub, Tahara

- 4. Agenda Check
- 5. Update from Chair
- 6. Update from Staff

# DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

 Action: Environment & Climate Commission Chair Election Motion/second to elect Cecilia Lunaparra as Chair (Hedlund, Tahara). The motion carried: 7-0-0-1; Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Tregub

Motion/second to elect Brianna McGuire as Vice Chair (Lunaparra, Hedlund). The motion carried: 7-0-0-1; Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Tregub.

- 8. <u>Presentation & Discussion: Electric Mobility Roadmap Implementation Update,</u> including Micromobility, Municipal Fleet Electrification, EV Infrastructure, and Public <u>EV Charging Fees</u> (Jen Sajor, Sarah Moore)
- Action: Proposed Environment & Climate Commission 2024 Meeting Calendar Motion/second to approved the 2024 Meeting Calendar (Allen, McGuire). The motion carried: 7-0-0-1; Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Tregub
- 10. <u>Presentation, Discussion & Action: Curbside Management</u> (Brianna McGuire) Motion/second to approve the referral in concept incorporating suggested revisions (Allen, Ranney). The motion carried: 7-0-0-1; Ranney, Hedlund, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Tregub
- 11. <u>Discussion: Plan for Future Response to Agenda & Rules Committee Just Transition</u> <u>Framework for West Berkeley Plan Amendments Referral</u>
- 12. <u>Reports from Commission Liaisons</u>
  - a. Planning Commission (Vacant)
  - b. Transportation and Infrastructure (Brianna McGuire)
  - c. Parks, Recreation and Waterfront Commission (Cecilia Lunaparra)
  - d. Zero Waste Commission (Sarah Ranney)
  - e. Disaster and Fire Safety Commission (Les Guliasi)
  - f. Housing Advisory Commission (Marc Hedlund)
- 13. Workplan Subcommittee Updates
  - a. Vehicle Miles Traveled Reduction Subcommittee (Tahara, Hedlund, Ranney, Lunaparra)
  - b. Native Plants and Pest Reduction Subcommittee (Ranney, McGuire, Allen)
  - c. Electrification Subcommittee (Tregub, Hedlund, Guliasi, Tahara)

### 14. Items for Future Agenda

- a. Native Plants and Pest Reduction Subcommittee (January)
- b. Just Transition Pilot Update (January)
- c. Community Resilience Centers

## **INFORMATION ITEMS**

- 15. Communications
- 16. Announcements from Commissioners

## ADJOURNMENT

Motion/second to adjourn at 7:57pm (Lunaparra, Tahara)

Minutes Approved:

/S/ Sarah Moore, Berkeley Energy Commission Secretary