

Environment & Climate Commission

ENVIRONMENT AND CLIMATE COMMISSION MINUTES Wednesday, January 24, 2024

Tregub, Igor	Mayor	Mayor
Ranney, Sarah	Kesarwani	District 1
LaBonte, Alison	Taplin	District 2
McGuire, Brianna	Bartlett	District 3
Tahara, Daniel	Harrison	District 4
Allen, Shannon	Hahn	District 5
Guliasi, Les	Wengraf	District 6
Lunaparra, Cecilia	Vacant	District 7
Vacant	Humbert	District 8

Athanasiou, Mabel Youth Commissioner
Syed, Shanza Youth Commissioner

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Sarah Moore at 6:01 pm.

Commissioners Present: Tregub, Ranney, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi,

Athanasiou, Syed

Commissioner Leave of Absence: Commissioner Absent: Lunaparra Staff: Sarah Moore, Rebecca Milliken

2. Public Comments and Announcements:

6 member(s) of the Public

0 comment(s)

3. Approval of Minutes:

Motion/second to approve the November 29, 2023 Minutes (Guliasi, Allen). The motion carried: 6-0-3-1; Tregub, Ranney, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi. Noes: None. Abstain: LaBonte, Athanasiou, Syed. Absent: Lunaparra

- 4. Agenda Check
- 5. Update from Chair
- 6. Update from Staff

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

- 7. <u>Presentation, Discussion and Action: Native Plants and Pest Reduction Subcommittee</u> (Sarah Ranney, Brianna McGuire, Shannon Allen)
- 8. Discussion: 2024 Draft Workplan

9. Reports from Commission Liaisons

- a. Planning Commission (Shannon Allen)
- b. Transportation and Infrastructure (Brianna McGuire)
- c. Parks, Recreation and Waterfront Commission (Cecilia Lunaparra)
- d. Zero Waste Commission (Sarah Ranney)
- e. Disaster and Fire Safety Commission (Les Guliasi)
- f. Housing Advisory Commission (Vacant)

10. Workplan Subcommittee Updates

- a. Vehicle Miles Traveled Reduction (Tahara, Ranney, Lunaparra)
- b. Native Plants (Ranney, McGuire, Allen)
- c. Electrification (Tregub, Guliasi, Tahara, LaBonte)

11. Items for Future Agenda

- CPUC proposed utility tax
- Urban Forestry programs

INFORMATION ITEMS

- 12. Communications
- 13. Announcements from Commissioners

ADJOURNMENT

Motion/second to adjourn at 7:55pm (Sayed, Athanasiou)

Minutes Approved:

/S/ Sarah Moore, Berkeley Environment & Climate Commission Secretary