

Environment & Climate Commission

ENVIRONMENT AND CLIMATE COMMISSION MINUTES Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Mayor

Tregub, Igor Ranney, Sarah LaBonte, Alison McGuire, Brianna Tahara, Daniel Allen, Shannon Guliasi, Les Lunaparra, Cecilia Vacant Athanasiou, Mabel Syed, Shanza

Kesarwani District 1 Taplin District 2 Bartlett District 3 vacant District 4 Hahn District 5 Wengraf **District 6** vacant District 7 Humbert **District 8** Youth Commissioner Youth Commissioner

Mayor

<u>Call to Order and Roll Call</u>
 The meeting was called to order by Sarah Moore at 6:06 pm.
 Commissioners Present: Tregub, Ranney, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Athanasiou, Syed
 Commissioner Leave of Absence: None
 Commissioner Absent: None
 Staff: Sarah Moore, Rebecca Milliken

2. Public Comments and Announcements:

1 member(s) of the Public 1 comment(s)

3. Approval of Minutes:

Motion/second to approve the January, 2024 Minutes (LaBonte, McGuire). The motion carried: 9-0-1-0; Tregub, Ranney, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Athanasiou, Syed. Noes: None. Abstain: Lunaparra. Absent: None.

4. Agenda Check

Motion/second to move Item #9 (Reports from Commission Liaisons) to the last item under DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS (Guliasi, Lunaparra). The motion carried: 10-0-0; Tregub, Ranney, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Athanasiou, Syed. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

- 5. Update from Chair
- 6. Update from Staff

DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

7. Action: Commissioner Election of Officers

Motion/second to elect Cecilia Lunaparra as Chair (Tregub, Ranney). The motion carried: 10-0-0-0; Tregub, Ranney, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Athanasiou, Syed. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

Motion/second to elect Brianna McGuire as Vice Chair (Ranney, Lunaparra). The motion carried: 10-0-0-0; Tregub, Ranney, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Athanasiou, Syed. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

8. Discussion and Action: 2024 Draft Workplan

Motion/second to adopt the 2024 Workplan with addition of Electrification Access & Equity content (Lunaparra, Tregub). The motion carried: 10-0-0-0; Tregub, Ranney, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Athanasiou, Syed. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None.

9. <u>Reports from Commission Liaisons</u>

- a. Planning Commission (Shannon Allen)
 - i. Commissioner LaBonte will replace Allen beginning March 2024
- b. Transportation and Infrastructure (Brianna McGuire)
 - i. Commissioner Allen will replace McGuire beginning March 2024
- c. Parks, Recreation and Waterfront Commission (Cecilia Lunaparra)
- d. Zero Waste Commission (Sarah Ranney)
 - i. Commissioner Athanasiou to join Ranney as Liaison beginning March 2024
- e. Disaster and Fire Safety Commission (Les Guliasi)
- f. Housing Advisory Commission (Vacant)
- g. Council Policy Subcommittees (Vacant)
 - i. Commissioner McGuire to serve as Liaison beginning March 2024

10. Workplan Subcommittee Updates

- a. Vehicle Miles Traveled Reduction (Tregub, Ranney, Tahara, Lunaparra)
- b. Native Plants (Ranney, McGuire, Allen)
- c. Electrification Equity & Access (Tregub, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Guliasi)
- d. Creation of a new Water Conservation & Management subcommittee (Ranney, Allen, Syed)
- 11. Items for Future Agenda
 - Urban Forestry programs
 - Proposed Utility Tax (Tregub)

INFORMATION ITEMS

12. Communications

13. Announcements from Commissioners

ADJOURNMENT

Motion/second to adjourn at 7:26 pm (Lunaparra, Guliasi)

Minutes Approved:

/S/ Sarah Moore, Berkeley Environment & Climate Commission Secretary