

**Environment & Climate Commission** 

# ENVIRONMENT AND CLIMATE COMMISSION DRAFT MINUTES Wednesday, March 27, 2024

Tregub, Igor	Mayor	Mayor
Ranney, Sarah	Kesarwani	District 1
LaBonte, Alison	Taplin	District 2
McGuire, Brianna	Bartlett	District 3
Tahara, Daniel	vacant	District 4
Allen, Shannon	Hahn	District 5
Guliasi, Les	Wengraf	District 6
Lunaparra, Cecilia	vacant	District 7
Vacant	Humbert	District 8

Athanasiou, Mabel Youth Commissioner Youth Commissioner

## 1. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Sarah Moore at 6:07 pm.

Commissioners Present: Tregub, Ranney, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi,

Lunaparra, Athanasiou

Commissioner Leave of Absence: None

Commissioner Absent: Syed

Staff: Sarah Moore, Rebecca Milliken, Ian Kesterson, Tom Dodge

## 2. Public Comments and Announcements:

- 4 member(s) of the Public
- 3 comment(s)

## 3. Approval of Minutes:

Motion/second to approve the February 2024 Minutes (Lunaparra, Tahara). The motion carried: 9-0-0-1; Tregub, Ranney, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Allen, Guliasi, Lunaparra, Athanasiou. Noes: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Syed

- 4. Agenda Check
- 5. Update from Chair
- 6. Update from Staff

#### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS**

- 7. <u>Presentation & Discussion: Urban Forestry</u> (Ian Kesterson & Tom Dodge)
- 8. Presentation & Discussion: Proposed Utility Tax (Igor Tregub)
- 9. Reports from Commission Liaisons
  - a. Planning Commission (Alison LaBonte)
  - b. Transportation and Infrastructure Commission (Shannon Allen)
  - c. Parks, Recreation and Waterfront Commission (Cecilia Lunaparra)
  - d. Zero Waste Commission (Sarah Ranney and Mabel Athanasiou)
  - e. Disaster and Fire Safety Commission (Les Guliasi)
  - f. Housing Advisory Commission (vacant)
  - g. Council Policy Subcommittees (Brianna McGuire)

## 10. Workplan Subcommittee Updates

- a. Vehicle Miles Traveled Reduction (Tregub, Ranney, Tahara, Lunaparra)
- b. Native Plants (Ranney, McGuire, Allen)
- c. Electrification Equity and Access (Tregub, LaBonte, McGuire, Tahara, Guliasi)
- d. Water Conservation and Management (Ranney, Allen, Syed)
- 11. Items for Future Agenda

## **INFORMATION ITEMS**

- 12. Communications
- 13. Announcements from Commissioners

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion/second to adjourn at 8:04 pm (Lunaparra, McGuire)

Minutes Approved:

/S/ Sarah Moore, Berkeley Environment & Climate Commission Secretary