

# REIMAGINING PUBLIC SAFETY TASK FORCE Meeting Minutes

Thursday, May 13, 2021 6:00 PM

District 1 -	Margaret Fine	Youth Commission - Nayo Polk
District 2 -	Sarah Abigail Ejigu	Police Review Commission - Nathan Mizell
District 3 -	boona cheema	Mental Health Commission - Edward Opton
District 4 -	Paul Kealoha Blake	Berkeley Community Safety Coalition - Todd Walker
District 5 -	Dan Lindheim	Associated Students of U. California - Alecia Harger
District 6 -	La Dell Dangerfield	At-Large - Alex Diaz
District 7 -	Barnali Ghosh	At-Large - Liza Lutzker
District 8 -	Pamela Hyde	At-Large - Frances Ho
Mayor -	Hector Malvido	

# PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

Pursuant to Section 3 of Executive Order N-29-20, issued by Governor Newsom on March 17, 2020, this meeting of the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force will be conducted exclusively through teleconference and Zoom videoconference. Please be advised that pursuant to the Executive Order, and to ensure the health and safety of the public by limiting human contact that could spread the COVID-19 virus, there will not be a physical meeting location available.

To access the meeting remotely using the internet: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Use URL https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81983354907. If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon on the screen.

To join by phone: Dial (669) 900 9128 and Enter Meeting ID: 819 8335 4907. If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press \*9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair.

Please be mindful that all other rules of procedure and decorum will apply for Commission meetings conducted by teleconference or videoconference.

Roll Call: 6:01 p.m.

**Present:** Hyde, Blake, cheema, Dangerfield, Ejiqu, Fine, Ghosh, Lindheim, Mizell,

Harger, Diaz, Lutzker, Ho, Opton, Malvido

**Absent:** Walker, Polk

Commissioner Polk present at 7:20 p.m.

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Matters: 2 speakers

#### **Minutes for Approval**

Draft minutes for the Commission's consideration and approval.

Action: M/S/C (Fine/Harger) to approve the minutes of 4/29/21. Vote: Ayes – Fine, cheema, Dangerfield, Hyde, Harger, Ghosh, Ejigu, Opton, Blake, Lindheim, Malvido, Mizell, Diaz, Lutzker, Ho; Noes – None; Absent – Polk, Walker

#### **Commission Action Items**

Action: M/S/C (Fine/Ejigu) to reorder the agenda to place Subcommittee reports as the first items for discussion. Vote: Ayes – Fine, cheema, Lindheim, Dangerfield, Hyde, Harger, Ghosh, Ejigu, Opton, Malvido, Mizell, Diaz, Lutzker, Blake, Ho; Noes – None; Absent – Polk, Walker

Public Comment on Agenda/Discussion Matters: 3 speakers

#### **Items for Future Agenda**

- Subcommittee Discussion
- Task Force Meeting Schedule and Discussion
- Fair and Impartial Policing Working Group
- Fair and Impartial Policing Implementation of Recommendations
- BerkDoT
- RPS Task Force FY22 Budget Recommendations

### **Adjournment**

Action: M/S/C (Ghosh/Harger) to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: Ayes – Ho, Polk, Blake, Fine, cheema, Dangerfield, Hyde, Harger, Lindheim, Ghosh, Ejigu, Opton, Malvido, Mizell, Diaz, Lutzker; Noes – None; Absent – Walker

Adjourned at 9:43 p.m.

Next Meeting – May 19, 2021.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is Task Force meeting held on May 13	a true and correct record of the Reimagining Public Safety 3, 2021.
Respectfully Submitted,	

David White – Commission Co-Secretary Shamika Cole – Commission Co-Secretary

## **Communications**

Communications submitted to the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force are on file in the City Manager's Office at 2180 Milvia Street, 5th Floor, Berkeley, CA and are available upon request by contacting the City Manager's Office at (510) 981-7000 or <a href="mailto:rpstf@cityofberkeley.info">rpstf@cityofberkeley.info</a>.