# Disaster & Fire Safety Commission Regular Meeting Wednesday, February 27, 2019 997 Cedar Street, Berkeley, CA 94710

Present: Paul Degenkolb, Gradiva Couzin, Bob Flasher, Toni Stein, Victoria Legg, Annie

Bailey, Shirley Dean, Ruth Grimes, Toby Simmons

Absent:

Staff: Khin Chin, Keith May, Anthony Yuen, Steven Riggs

Public: David Peattie, Sarah Jones, Marisa Turner, Aram Antaramian, Alina Contantinescu

## **Preliminary Matters**

Call to Order

P. Degenkolb called meeting to order at 7:02 pm

Approval of the Agenda Approved by Acclamation.

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Items

David Peattie said that Berkeley Disaster Preparedness Neighborhood Network' will work on a GMRS for emergency communications drill on May 4th. BDPNN will also be tabling at District 5 Board of Supervisor's preparedness fair in April.

Gradiva Couzin, Paul Degenkolb, Ruth Grimes, and Robert Flasher spoke on behalf of commissioners and the community to thank Victoria Legg for her service to the Commission and to Berkeley.

Toni Stein arrived at 706pm.

1. Fire Department and Office of Emergency Services Staff Report

A small fire in an attic on February 5 caused by electrical.

There was an encampment fire on February 13.

On February 14 there was a small kitchen fire at Smokehouse Restaurant on Telegraph.

CERT Academy will be scheduled for Spring and late Fall. OES will be working on the Wildfire Safety Plan including safe passage, evacuation.

OES met with BUSD and established a quarterly meeting schedule on emergency services. The latest discussion included a Joint Facility Use Agreement Memorandum of Understanding.

California Office of Emergency Services has chosen not to submit the Live Oak Community Center Seismic Retrofit and renovation project to FEMA. The subapplication was deemed not cost-effective with a benefit-cost ratio of .344 due to the soil type being classified as "C-Very Dense."

### **Consent Items**

2. Approval of Draft Minutes of January 23, 2018\*

Motion approve minutes as revised: R. Flasher

Second: V. Legg

Vote: 8 Ayes: Degenkolb, Flasher, Legg, Stein, Bailey, Couzin, Grimes, Dean; 0

Noes; 0 Absent; 1 Abstain: Simmons

#### **Action Items**

3. Annual Election of Commission Officers

Open nomination for Chair.

Motion to nominate of Gradiva Couzin for chair: P. Degenkolb

Second: R. Flasher

Vote: 9 Ayes: Degenkolb, Flasher, Legg, Stein, Bailey, Couzin, Grimes, Simmons,

Dean; 0 Noes; 0 Absent; 0 Abstain:

Open nomination for Vice Chair.

Motion to nominate of Annie Bailey as vice chair: T. Stein

Second: R. Flasher

Vote: 9 Ayes: Degenkolb, Flasher, Legg, Stein, Bailey, Couzin, Grimes, Simmons,

Dean; 0 Noes; 0 Absent; 0 Abstain:

4. Support for Wildfire Evacuation, Emergency Alerting, and Public Education\*

Motion to send a memo to make City Council aware that the Commission was exploring sirens as an emergency alerting system and that such a system might have a

significant budgetary cost that due to the urgent nature of the issue would require consideration in the current budget cycle: G. Couzin

Second: S. Dean

Vote: 9 Ayes: Degenkolb, Flasher, Legg, Stein, Bailey, Couzin, Grimes, Simmons, Dean; 0 Noes; 0 Absent; 0 Abstain:

- 5. Local Hazard Mitigation Plan
- 6. Motion to submit comment for the Local Hazard Mitigation Plan update recommending coordination with other City plans including the General Plan, the Climate Action Plan and Zero Waste Plan, addition of maps including narrow streets and pinch points and improving the plan's maps via the City's GIS portal, inclusion of a transparent process to reach homeless, ESL and disabled population, and inclusion of a list of priority goals for each of the upcoming years of the 5-year plan: T. Stein

Second: S. Dean

Vote: 6 Ayes: Flasher, Stein, Bailey, Grimes, Simmons, Dean; 3 Abstain: Couzin,

Degenkolb, Legg;

#### **Discussion Items**

- 7. Hills Fire Safety\*
- 8. City Manager Referral to Improve Fire Safety Standards for Rebuilt Fire Damaged Structure\*
- 9. Report from the Community-Based Response Working Group
- 10. Future Agenda Items

## Adjournment

Motion to Adjourn: S. Dean

Second: R. Flasher

Vote: 9 Ayes: Degenkolb, Flasher, Legg, Stein, Bailey, Couzin, Grimes, Simmons,

Dean; 0 Noes; 0 Absent; 0 Abstain:

Adjourned at 932pm