

Health Housing and Community Services Department Housing & Community Services Division Commission on Labor

## COMMISSION ON LABOR REGULAR MEETING

Wednesday, March 20, 2024 7:07 PM South Berkeley Senior Center 2939 Ellis St, Berkeley, CA 94703 DRAFT MINUTES

#### 1. Roll Call

<u>Present:</u> Arbaugh, Bowen, Flegel-Mishlove, Katz, and Scantlebury

Absent: None

<u>Staff Present:</u> Asavari Devadiga <u>Members of the Public:</u> None

- 2. Land Acknowledgement
- 3. Agenda Approval
- 4. Public Comments

None.

## 5. Approval of Draft January 17, 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes

<u>Action:</u> M/S/C (Arbaugh/Bowen) to approve the January 17, 2024 Special Meeting Minutes.

<u>Vote:</u> Ayes: Arbaugh, Bowen, Flegel-Mishlove, Katz, and Scantlebury. Noes: None. Abstentions: None. Absent: None.

#### 6. Officer Elections

Action: M/S/C (Bowen/Arbaugh) to elect Commissioner Katz as Chair.

Vote: Ayes: Arbaugh, Bowen, Flegel-Mishlove, Katz, and Scantlebury. Noes:

None. Abstentions: None. Absent: None.

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Scantlebury/Arbaugh) to elect Commissioner Flegel-Mishlove as Vice-Chair.

Vote: Ayes: Arbaugh, Flegel-Mishlove, Bowen, Katz, and Scantlebury. Noes:

None, Abstentions: None, Absent: None,

## 7. Chairperson's Report

Action: No Action Taken.

# 8. Discussion and Possible Action on Fair Workweek Ordinance Implementation

<u>Action</u>: M/S/C (Flegel-Mishlove/Scantlebury) Contingent upon resolution of SEIU grievance of Library employee hours, to rescind the Commission's recommendation to the City Manager.

<u>Vote:</u> Ayes: Arbaugh, Bowen, Flegel-Mishlove, Katz, and Scantlebury. Noes: None. Abstentions: None. Absent: None.

#### 9. Discussion and Possible Action on Labor Education

Action: No Action Taken.

## 10. Subcommittee Updates

Action: No Action Taken.

## 11. Updates on Council Items (Future Dates Subject to Change)

Action: No Action Taken.

#### 12. Announcements/ Information Items

Action: No Action Taken.

#### 13. Future Items

Action: No Action Taken.

#### 14. Adjourn

Action: M/S/C (Katz/Bowen) to adjourn meeting at 8:07 p.m.

<u>Vote:</u> Ayes: Arbaugh, Bowen Flegel-Mishlove, Katz, and Scantlebury. Noes: None. Abstentions: None. Absent: Arbaugh

Approved: Asavari Devadiga, Asavari Devadiga, Acting Secretary