# Disaster & Fire Safety Commission Regular Meeting Wednesday December 7, 2022

Present: Toni Stein, Harrison Raine, Greg Murphy, Weldon Bradstreet, Paul Degenkolb,

- Absent: Kim-Mai Cutler (Leave of Absence), Jose Luis Bedolla, Shirley Dean (Leave of Absence)
- Staff: Khin Chin, Keith May, Steve Riggs, Chris Pinto, David Sprague, Cheryl Miller, Carol Rice

Public: 16 Attendees; 4 public speakers

## **Preliminary Matters**

Call to Order

W. Bradstreet called meeting to order at 7:02pm

Approval of the Agenda Approved by Acclamation

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Items 4 speakers

1. Fire Department Staff Report

## **Consent Items**

 Approval of Draft Minutes of Meeting of October 26, 2022\* Motion to approve as submitted: Stein Second: Raine Vote: 4 Ayes: Bradstreet, Degenkolb, Raine, Stein; 0 Noes; 3 Absent: Bedolla, Dean, Cutler; 1 Abstain: Murphy

## **Action Items**

3. 2023 Commission Meeting Schedule\*

Motion to adopt Disaster and Fire Safety Commission meeting schedule for 2023 regular meetings scheduled on January 25, February 22, March 22, April 26, May 24, June 28, August 2, September 27, October 25, and December 6: Bradstreet

Second: Stein Vote: 5 Ayes: Bradstreet, Degenkolb, Stein; Murphy, Raine 0 Noes; 3 Absent: Bedolla, Dean, Cutler; Abstain:

4. Designating a Commissioner as an Alternate member of the Community Wildfire Protection Plan (CWPP) Core Group

Motion to designate Commissioner Murphy as alternate member of the Community Wildfire Protection Plan Core Group for the next scheduled meeting only: Bradstreet

Second: Stein

Vote: 5 Ayes: Bradstreet, Degenkolb, Stein; Murphy, Raine 0 Noes; 3 Absent: Bedolla, Dean, Cutler; Abstain:

## **Discussion Items**

- 5. Community Wildfire Protection Plan (CWPP) Meeting #3 Assessment Priorities and Action Plan (Staff Presentation) \*
- 6. Update on Commission Recommendations to Council (Rader)
- 7. Berkeley Fire Code Update (Dean)
- 8. Fire Department Facilities Master Plan (Dean)
- 9. Future Agenda Items and Next Steps

### Adjournment

Motion to Adjourn: Stein Second: Murphy Vote: 5 Ayes: Bradstreet, Degenkolb, Stein; Murphy, Raine 0 Noes; 3 Absent: Bedolla, Dean, Cutler; Abstain:

Adjourned at 8:54p