

**Youth Commission** 

**Special Meeting** 

Minutes

#### Youth Commission Meeting Tuesday, January 19, 2021 at 5pm Zoom Meeting

# PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH ZOOM VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE

- To access the meeting remotely: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device, please use this URL to join the meeting: <u>https://zoom.us/j/98549717574</u>
- If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop-down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon by rolling over the bottom of the screen.
- To join by phone: Dial: +16699006833,,98549717574#
- If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, Press \*9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair. Note: Your phone number will appear on the videoconference screen.

## Agenda

The Commissions may discuss any items listed on the agenda, but may take action only on items identified as Action.

- 1. Call to Order (Chair) 5:02pm
- **2. Roll Call** (Secretary) present: Polk, Zhou, Lamoreaux, Kaplan-Pettus, Cline, Jay, Schlosberg, Vasquez and Abrahamson. Absent: Draves and Birenbaum
- **3. Approval of Agenda** (Chair) M/S/Schlosberg/Cline: Aye's: Polk, Zhou, Lamoreaux, Kaplan-Pettus, Cline, Schlosberg, Vasquez and Abrahamson Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Draves and Birenbaum. Late: Jay

### 4. Public Comment

5. Action: Discuss and Youth Commission to "Reimagining Public Safety Task Force"

Motion to assigned Commissioner Nayo to the "Reimagining Public Safety Task Force and Commissioner Lamoreaux as alternative. M/S/Schlosberg/ Zhou: Aye's: Polk, Zhou, Lamoreaux, Kaplan-Pettus, Cline, Schlosberg, Vasquez, Jay and Abrahamson Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Draves and Birenbaum.

### 6. Adjournment: 5:14pm

M/S/Kaplan-Pettus/Schlosberg: Aye's: Polk, Zhou, Lamoreaux, Kaplan-Pettus, Cline, Schlosberg, Vasquez, Jay and Abrahamson Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Draves and Birenbaum. Commission Information: The Youth Commission packet is available for review at both the Berkeley Main Library and the Parks Recreation & Waterfront Department Office at 2180 Milvia Street –3rd Floor, during normal business hours. If you have questions, contact Commission Secretary, Ginsi K. Bryant, at 981-6671 or by email at gbryant@cityofberkeley.info

ADA Disclaimer: This meeting is being held in a wheelchair accessible location. To request disabilityrelated accommodations to participate in the meeting, including auxiliary aids or services, please contact the Disability Services Specialist at 981-6342 (V) or 981-6345 (TDD) at least three business days before the meeting date. Please refrain from wearing scented products to this meeting.

SB343 Disclaimer: Any writings or documents provided to a majority of the Commission regarding any item on this agenda will be made available for public inspection at Parks Recreation & Waterfront Department Office at 2180 Milvia Street, 3rd Floor, Berkeley CA.

Communications Disclaimer: Communications to Berkeley boards, commissions or committees are public record and will become part of the City's electronic records, which are accessible through the City's website. Please note: e-mail addresses, names, addresses, and other contact information are not required, but if included in any communication to a City board, commission or committee, will become part of the public record. All communications to the Commission should be received at least 10 days before the meeting date. If you do not want your e-mail address or any other contact information to be made public, you may deliver communications via U.S. Postal Service or in person to the secretary of the relevant board, commission or committee. If you do not want your contact information included in the public record, please do not include that information in your communication. Please contact the secretary to the commission or committee for further information.

## **Commission Members**

District	Name	<u>District</u>	Name
Mayor	Nayo Polk	BUSD/Brown	Vacant
Kesarwani	Vacant	BUSD/Vasudeo	Annabel Jay
Taplin	Anya Draves	BUSD/Babbitt	Vacant
Bartlett	Vacant	<b>BUSD/Student Director</b>	Max Schlosberg
Harrison	Estella Zhou	BUSD/Sinai	Isela Vasquez
Hahn	Abigail Lamoreaux	BUSD	Vacant
Wengraf	Samuel Kaplan-Pettus	BUSD/Alper	Moses Abrahamson
Robinson	Maize Cline	BUSD	Vacant
Droste	Naomi Birenbaum	BUSD	Vacant

## **Mission Statement**

The Berkeley Youth Commission identifies the needs of youth, reviews and recommends youth services and programs.