

Youth Commission Meeting Monday, December 13, 2021 at 5pm Zoom Webinar PUBLIC ADVISORY: THIS MEETING WILL BE CONDUCTED EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH ZOOM VIDEOCONFERENCE AND TELECONFERENCE To access the meeting remotely: Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device, please use this URL to join the meeting: https://us06web.zoom.us/j/85925075321? Passcode: 621930 If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, then use the drop-down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous. To request to speak, use the "raise hand" icon by roling over the bottom of the screen. To join by phone: Dial: +16699006833, or +13462487799 If you wish to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, Press *9 and wait to be recognized by the Chair. Note: Your phone number will appear on the videoconference screen.

Draft Minutes

The Commission may discuss any items listed on the agenda but may take action only on items identified as Action.

- 1. Call to Order (Chair) 5:08pm
- Roll Call (Secretary) Present: Slattery-Weisberg, Henry, Draves, Kaplan-Pettus, Powell, Schlosberg, Thompson, and Jay. Absent: Zhou, Lamoreaux, Cline, Baudart-Gehlawat, and Buendia. Late: Wilson, and Sanders
- Approval of Agenda (Chair) M/S/Kaplan-Pettus/Slattery-Weisberg. Aye's: Slattery-Weisberg, Henry, Draves, Kaplan-Pettus, Powell, Schlosberg, Thompson, Wilson, Sanders, and Jay Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Zhou, Lamoreaux, Cline, Baudart-Gehlawat, and Buendia.
- 4. Approval of Minutes for November 8, 2021 (Chair) **M/S**/Kaplan-Pettus/Draves. **Aye's:** Slattery-Weisberg, Draves, Kaplan-Pettus, Powell, Schlosberg, Thompson, and Jay **Noe's:** None. **Abstain:** Henry, Wilson, and Sanders. **Absent:** Zhou, Lamoreaux, Cline, Baudart-Gehlawat, and Buendia.
- 5. Public Comments
- 6. Chair's Announcements
- 7. Director's Report
- 8. Land Acknowledgment (Schlosberg)
- 9. Introductions (Zhou)
- ACTION: Youth Commission 2022 meeting schedule (Secretary) M/S/Kaplan-Pettus/Slattery-Weisberg. Aye's: Slattery-Weisberg, Henry, Draves, Kaplan-Pettus, Powell, Schlosberg, Thompson, Wilson, Sanders, and Jay Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Zhou, Lamoreaux, Cline, Baudart-Gehlawat, and Buendia.
- 11. Recruitment (Chair)
- 12. Update on Council recommendations (Chair)
- 13. Police Review Commission update (Thompson)
- 14. Adjourn 6:11pm M/S/Kaplan-Pettus/Powell. Aye's: Slattery-Weisberg, Henry, Draves, Kaplan-Pettus, Powell, Schlosberg, Thompson, Wilson, Sanders, and Jay Noe's: None. Abstain: None. Absent: Zhou, Lamoreaux, Cline, Baudart-Gehlawat, and Buendia.

Commission Information: The Youth Commission packet is available for review at both the Berkeley Main Library and the Parks Recreation & Waterfront Department Office at 2180 Milvia Street –3rd Floor, during normal business hours. If you have questions, contact Commission Secretary, Ginsi K. Bryant, at 981-6678 or by email at <u>gbryant@cityofberkeley.info</u>

ADA Disclaimer: This meeting is being held in a wheelchair-accessible location. To request disabilityrelated accommodations to participate in the meeting, including auxiliary aids or services, please contact the Disability Services Specialist at 981-6342 (V) or 981-6345 (TDD) at least three business days before the meeting date. Please refrain from wearing scented products to this meeting.

SB343 Disclaimer: Any writings or documents provided to a majority of the Commission regarding any item on this agenda will be made available for public inspection at Parks Recreation & Waterfront Department Office at 2180 Milvia Street, 3rd Floor, Berkeley CA.

Communications Disclaimer: Communications to Berkeley boards, commissions or committees are public record and will become part of the City's electronic records, which are accessible through the City's website. Please note: e-mail addresses, names, addresses, and other contact information are not required, but if included in any communication to a City board, commission or committee, will become part of the public record. All communications to the Commission should be received at least 10 days before the meeting date. If you do not want your e-mail address or any other contact information to be made public, you may deliver communications via U.S. Postal Service or in person to the secretary of the relevant board, commission or committee. If you do not want your contact information included in the public record, please do not include that information in your communication. Please contact the secretary to the commission or committee for further information.

Commission Members

District	Name	District	Name
Mayor	Hannah Slattery Weisberg	BUSD/Brown	Khalid Powell
Kesarwani	Ziyear Henry	BUSD/Vasudeo	Sharlyn B. Buendia
Taplin	Anya Draves	BUSD/Babbitt	Nicholas Sanders
Bartlett	Maliyah Wilson	BUSD/Student Director	Max Schlosberg
Harrison	Estella Zhou	BUSD/Sinai	Vacant
Hahn	Abigail Lamoreaux	BUSD	Asha Baudart-Gehlawat
Wengraf	Samuel Kaplan-Pettus	BUSD/Alper	Vacant
Robinson	Maize Cline	BUSD	Nina Thompson
Droste	Vacant	BUSD/Cutler	Annabel Jay

Mission Statement

The Berkeley Youth Commission identifies the needs of youth, reviews and recommends youth services and programs.